It was like looking at myself on the mirror…


You can think whatever you want about this picture, but to me it shows you as a beautiful vulnerable individual. You inspire me to be myself no matter what others think. Thank you.


The moment you came in, i could feel the tension around you. As you approached me without the usual smile and pose, i knew you were in pain. When your tears started rolling down your face I began to see myself in the mirror. You started telling me stuff that I have told myself before. The reason my lip quivered as I spoke to you, was because everything i told you, I was telling myself as well. While we both wrestle through the beliefs we were raised to stick to, we must recognized what we have instead of what we do not.
Recently a good friend reminded me of her journal page from a year ago. In it, many of the hopes and dreams we had, seemed extremely impossible. It might seem like a lie at the moment to tell yourself that one day through faith you will be able to do something that will make you feel better about your identity. The dreams and aspirations my friend had written in her journal did not come true as “we hoped” , but I can tell you, is that the never ceasing prayer from people around me and myself were the only thing that could bring me peace at the moment. Now wen I look back I have not freaking clue how I got to where I am now, and I am very thankful for the blessings in my life. I understand it is extremely hard to know what you want to do and who you want to be, and at the same time to know you don’t want to be who you want to be. Every time I ponder on what I want, it is because I don’t realize what I have. Whether is something or nothing, we are young and have a lot of time to get to a place where we can express ourselves without being scared of the consequences. That same friend who told me about her diary said to me: “focus on what you DO know, which is that YOU are a child of the KING and that YOU are cherished and treasured by the one that created all. I promise you, you can have control over the
thoughts and guide them to a more balanced place. “
Whenever you feel like you can not handle the life most “Christians” do, remember that the difference between you and others is that you are not afraid of showing your imperfections, the “very ‘Christianish kids” are not perfect, they all deal with the same stuff we do. It is so hard to believe in something we do not see, and something majority of the people in this world do not see. But if you begin believing,just as you should believe in yourself, you will start to experience the blessing it is to be a child of God. No one “has got their act together” we all deal with crap. It is harder on people like you and I, because we deal with it in a more intensely emotional way.
Miss. Twitty, you are precious. You have made a huge impact in my life, and I have learned a lot about myself through you. I thank God for having you as my friend. I can not wait for the day when we can go to Tokyo and London. Museums! Shoes! and Stylish Sunglasses!. Tell yourself that you will work hard to make that day possible. You will be in my prayers from now and forever. Know that I am here anytime. You rock girl.


-Oro Continua

Leave a Reply

